Mark E. Molitch, MD

Martha Leland Sherwin Professor of Endocrinology, Division of Endocrinology, Metabolism, and Molecular Medicine, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, Chicago, IL

Mark Molitch, MD, is the Martha Leland Sherwin Professor of Medicine in the Division of Endocrinology, Metabolism, and Molecular Medicine at the Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine. Prior to coming to Northwestern in 1984, Dr. Molitch was an Associate Professor at Tufts University School of Medicine in Boston, Massachusetts. Dr. Molitch earned an A.B. degree from Princeton University and an M.D. from the University of Pennsylvania. He did his housestaff training at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania and an Endocrine Fellowship at the UCLA-Harbor General Hospital in Torrance, California. Dr. Molitch has participated in clinical research for many years, focusing on the pathogenesis of pituitary tumors and their treatment as well as the complications of diabetes. He served as the Principal Investigator for the Northwestern centers of the Diabetes Control and Complications Trial and of the DCCT follow-up study called "Epidemiology of Diabetes and Its Complications" (EDIC), of the ongoing Diabetes Prevention Program Observational Study (DPPOS), of the Testosterone Trial and of the Prevention of Early Renal Loss (PERL) Study. Dr. Molitch has been a member of the committees that wrote many current clinical guidelines used by endocrinologists, including the American Diabetes Association Standards of Care and Diabetic Nephropathy and the Endocrine Society’s guidelines on Adult Growth Hormone Deficiency, Pituitary Incidentalomas and Acromegaly. In addition to editing eight books and journal volumes, Dr. Molitch has authored or coauthored more than 500 original papers, review articles, book chapters, case reports and other publications. In 1997, Dr. Molitch was the recipient of the "Outstanding Physician Educator in the Field of Diabetes Award" by the American Diabetes Association, in 2013 was the recipient of the "Distinguished Educator Award" of The Endocrine Society, and was President of the Pituitary Society in 2012-2013.